The groundhog is no more

Yesterday the groundhog came out of its burrow while the dog was outside. Shelby immediately took off after the groundhog and cornered it by the fence. After a battle, Shelby killed the groundhog.

Although I really wanted the groundhog to go away, I feel terrible now. I am thankful that I did not witness the fight. My husband did and said it was brutal.

It remains to be seen if we have a colony of if that was the only one.

I find it ironic that I,  someone who writes murder mysteries, could be so upset by the death of a pest rodent.

2 thoughts on “The groundhog is no more

  1. Well, because it IS upsetting. It is Nature, and nature is indifferent. Some say “Nature is cruel,” but that implies an intention, a meanness. As far as I can figure, Nature doesn’t care one whit about a single groundhog, or dog, or even [gasp!] person.

    As for the death(s) of fictional characters, it’s upsetting, too–and I can’t imagine what it must be like to kill off a character one has actually created. I wonder, though, if this is why so often in mysteries a reader can identify the “Mr./Ms Body” fairly early in the story. How often are those marked for elimination characters with (literally) fatal flaws that make their deaths, which are necessary for the plot to advance, less traumatic for the reader? I actually find the writers of YA Fiction more heartless. So many novels in that genre kill off the mentor-figure so that the protagonist can see that s/he is now fully independent.

Leave a Reply

