What is wrong with my PC?

I am old enough to remember when graphics came to the PC world and all the DOS machines began freezing.

MY modern HP with a terabyte of memory is now doing the exact same thing. It is impossible to use it. I spend more time watching the blue circle spinning – or not – than I do working. Even playing solitaire is an exercise in frustration. The cards stop halfway across the screen or freeze in place.

I’ve heard various reasons for this and tried a ton of fixes. I’ve gone through browser after browser but it happens to all of them. I’ve tried closing down the browsers at night. I’ve tried shutting down the whole machine. And after waiting twenty minutes for the stupid thing to boot up it then freezes almost immediately. What?

A script is busy. Or the plugin container has crashed. Or Adobe flash or Shockwave has crashed. Seriously?

The explanation I’ve heard that makes the most sense is that all these moving videos and ads (that use the various plugins) are hanging up on the browsers.

All I know is that it does not happen on my MAC. It is unlikely I will every buy one of these Windows based PCs again. (Sorry, Bill Gates.)

Right now I have a large and expensive paperweight.

Leave a Reply

